Favourite Books of 2022

Well…it’s been a while! The past few months have been a whirlwind and I have been struggling to write reviews and keep the blog updated. But I feel like I’m getting my mojo back and I’m going into 2023 feeling optimistic about the year ahead, with plans to write more about my favourite pastime and I might even try my hand and writing creatively.

In the meantime, I wanted to take a second to look back at just a few of the books I’ve read and loved this year. I tried to narrow this down to a top 10 but couldn’t get lower than 12. So, here’s by top 12 reads of 2022! Books I loved that left such a lasting impact they will probably live on my bookshelves indefinitely. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll even get round to reading them again!

So, without further ado and in no particular order:

Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus. Read my review here

Sea of Tranquility by Emily St John Mandel. Read my review here

The Mirror & The Light by Hilary Mantel. I didn’t write a full review for this one because of the timing, but I wrote some words about it here

Beautiful World, Where Are You? by Sally Rooney. Read my review here

Hearts & Bones by Niamh Mulvey. Read my review here

Small Things Like These by Claire Keegan

The Book of Form and Emptiness by Ruth Ozeki

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith

Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. Read my review here

Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh

If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio. Read my review here

I haven’t written reviews for all of these…yet! So I think my first task of 2023 will be to rectify that and get some words down about all of them. I find it much easier to write about books I loved too, so a good way to get back into the flow.

I also wanted to include a quick review of a challenge I set myself for 2022; one which I haven’t succeeded in completing! I set myself a goal of reading 10 books that had been lingering on my TBR for far too long (the original post can be found here). See below for a list of the books!

Out of this 10 I actually only read 5: The Mirror & The Light, The Goldfinch, Pachinko, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn and Dubliners. It’s ok though, because I have seen lots of people setting a 23 books in 2023 challenge and I think I’m going to join in! The 5 that sadly got missed last year will be added to the list and I WILL read them in 2023.

3 comments

  1. I’ve read a few of these, Pachinko was one of my favourite books of last year. Also Lessons in Chemistry and Small Things like These. Seems we have similar tastes!

    Like

Leave a comment